Workshop on NextGen Sequencing-based Whole Genome Sequencing, Assembly and Annotation

August 20-22, 2018, Yenepoya (Deemed to be University), Mangalore, India

Center for Systems Biology and Molecular Medicine (CSBMM) is a premier center for genomics, proteomics, metabolomics and computational biology. The scientists at CSBMM are carrying out cutting edge research by employing NextGen sequencing (NGS) -based genomics and transcriptomics to understand and enable biomedical discoveries intended towards translation in the areas of clinical and biomedical research. CSBMM has also established a state-of-the-art proteomics facility to discover and validate candidate biomarkers in human diseases including infectious diseases and cancers. As a part of the academic program at Yenepoya (Deemed to be University), scientists at CSBMM in collaboration with Bangalore Genomics Centre will share their expertise in NextGen sequencing-based genomic data analysis with young researchers in India through this workshop.

Workshop Objectives:

As a part of this 3-day intensive training, we will introduce, demonstrate and provide theoretical underpinnings of NextGen sequencing-based genomics. Each participant will gain hands-on training to assess and apply quality control, to perform alignment of WGS data against reference database followed by subsequent variant identification and functional annotation.

Genomics workshop Announcement flyer for August 20-22, 2018

Focus of the workshop

  • NGS data formats and structure
  • WGS by NGS platforms (short and long reads)
  • Genome alignment
  • Proteogenomics
  • R-packages (NGS Analysis)
  • Visualization on IGV

Resource personnel
  • Dr. T. S. Keshava Prasad
  • Dr. Malali Gowda, Professor, Trans-Disciplinary University
  • Dr. Roopalakshmi K., COO, Bangalore Genomics Centre
  • Dr. Sushil Kumar Middha, Maharani Lakshmi Ammani College, Bangalore
  • Dr. Usha Talambedu, Maharani Lakshmi Ammani College, Bangalore
  • Dr. Sneha M. Pinto
  • Dr. Yashwanth Subbannayya
  • Dr. Pratigya Subba
  • Dr. Prashant Kumar Modi
  • Dr. Shobha Dagamajalu